Hindusthan Samachar
Banner 2 शुक्रवार, अप्रैल 19, 2019 | समय 21:48 Hrs(IST) Sonali Sonali Sonali Singh Bisht

Congress rejects SP request,puts its own candidate for Lucknow

By HindusthanSamachar | Publish Date: Apr 17 2019 7:08PM
Congress rejects SP request,puts its own candidate for Lucknow
Lucknow,April 17(HS)The Congress party decision to field Pramod Krishnam for Lucknow constituency has ended all talks of selective support of the party to the SP-BSP-RLD alliance in Uttar Pradesh.The party will put up a candidate for this seat despite request by the SP not to do so. It also indicates that BSP leader Mayawati has not yet forgiven the party and yet nursing some grudge.The Congress presence may not make much difference to home minister Rajnath Singh who is seeking-reelection from the constituency,but it certainly will not be helpful to the alliance. The Congress had also contested election from here in 2014 but its candidate in the previous poll,Rita Bahuguna Joshi, has left the party and joined the BJP. She had stood second with over 2.8 lakh votes.Singh had won with a big margin having secured suppport from more than 5.6 lakh electorates. It is not yet clear why the grand old party has fallen for Krishnam who runs an Ashram in Sambhal in the western part of the state and had unsuccessfully contested election from there in 2014. He had done poorly and got only 16,000 votes.His position was fifth.The winner was a BJP candidate. Rajnath Singh has already filed his nomination but the alliance and Congress candidates are yet to do so.Thursday(tomorrow) is the last day for filing nomination. Poonam Sinha,wife of film actor Shagtrughan Sinha,who joined SP on Tuesday has been declared party candidate for Lucknow seat.It was being speculated since Sinha''s meeting with SP president Akhilesh Yadav last month. The SP had also fielded candidate for this seat in 2014 but he had not fared well.The BSP had done better than the party with over 64,000 votes.Put together the two parties had bagged about 1.2 lakh votes. The other factor which favours Rajnath is that the constituency has a large number of committed voters who have been backing the party since 1991.The BJP has won all the last seven elections.Former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpyee had won it five times.It was bagged by present Bihar governor Lalji Tandon in 2009 and Rajnath Singh in 2014. It will go to the poll this year on May 6. HS/RN
लोकप्रिय खबरें
फोटो और वीडियो गैलरी