Hindusthan Samachar
Banner 2 गुरुवार, मार्च 21, 2019 | समय 21:01 Hrs(IST) Sonali Sonali Sonali Singh Bisht

UDP lambasts Congress for BJP ‘nexus’ charge

By HindusthanSamachar | Publish Date: Mar 16 2019 9:20PM
UDP lambasts Congress for BJP ‘nexus’ charge
Shillong, Mar. 16 (HS): Meghalaya Assembly Speaker and United Democratic Party (UDP) president Donkupar Roy, has refuted the Congress allegation that his party and National People’s Party (NPP) are in nexus with BJP terming staying it has been proved wrong as the saffron party going solo in Meghalaya.The BJP decided to go it alone and contest the Lok Sabha polls from both Shillong and Tura seats, though it is a part of the six-party coalition government – Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA).Speaking to reporters in Shillong, Roy, however, the party’s candidate Jemino Mawthoh is the common candidate of the MDA and BJP will be contesting the poll on its own.NPP candidate for Tura parliamentary seat Miss Agatha Sangma, a former Union Minister, is MDA’s common candidate.Terming the BJP-led North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA) a “loose association,” the UDP president said that NEDA has nothing to do with the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. “NEDA is a loose association which is not even a written association or has a written agreement. We (UDP) are fighting the elections on our own and have nothing to do with them (NEDA),” he said.Formed by the BJP in 2016, NEDA is a platform of non-Congress parties from the Northeast including the UDP and NPP for raising issues concerning the Northeast including development.The UDP, however, severed ties with NEDA recently over the controversial Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2016 (CAB).When asked if CAB will be UDP’s election agenda, Roy said, “The Bill is not our issue. It is an issue of the MP (Member of Parliament), and it will not be our agenda.”On the BJP’s decision to fight the Lok Sabha polls in the state, the UDP leader said, “BJP contesting separately will not affect us (UDP).The six-party MDA coalition government comprises National People’s Party (NPP) (20 members), UDP (7), People’s Democratic Front (4), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Hill State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP) (two each), Nationalist Congress Party (1) besides three Independents.Hindusthan Samachar / Dhrubajyoti Chakravorty \
लोकप्रिय खबरें
फोटो और वीडियो गैलरी